👊 Domi's favourite Things - Issue #37

🛍️ Why People buy Anything 🤑

Read time: 5.30 Minutes

Servus Friends, 👊

last week we talked about a cool Success-Story from Holland named MessageBird, in the dutch Issue.🇳🇱

Today we gather a deeper Look into why People buy Stuff in the first Place. A real important Lesson for all of us.

In the Social Corner you will get some timeless Wisdom in Terms of how you get the best Sales People for your Endeavours.

Keep grinding Friends…

The Things we are digging in Today:

  1. 🛍️ Why People buy Anything 🤑

  2. 🦺 Domi’s „Building in Public“: 🚀 Ideas for “Lead Magnets” 👨‍💻

  3. #Twitter-Box: 📈 The World Order of Sales 💶

  4. #Domi's favourite 5 - Random Workout Edition 🏋️‍♀️

# 1 - 🛍️ Why People buy Anything 🤑

Some Years ago I went to the Berlin based Conference Heureka and listen to a surprising Keynote of the famous Carsten Marschmeyer.

You may ask what was so surprising there?

But first my Opinion about him for Context. I have to admit I am not the biggest Fan of him. He build a german Insurance-Agency called AWD in the past and had a Billion € Exit in 2007. So far, so exceptional.

In general you can google a lot of his Teachings to his Staff during that Time. And I have to say for me that felt more like a Marketing Pyramid than a normal “trustworthy” Business. (But that’s just my personal Opinion 🫠)

Since some Years, he’s doing a lot for the Startup World in Germany, being an Investor, playing a Part in Germany’s Version of Shark Tank 🦈 and supporting the Ecosystem. (at least I like that 😅)

SO. Now back to the Story…

Marschmeyer came on Stage and started his Keynote. But the Topic really impressed me a bit. (I am still not a Fanboy 🥸)

He talked about why People buy in the first Place. He used a lot of Tricks and Frameworks from Psychology.

And I got his Point…

“Being good in Business means you have to know exactly why Customers buy your Stuff…”

Last Week I remembered that Story, because of this Article from our Friend Ash Maurya, the Mastermind behind a lot of Lean Startup Methods.

So I beg you to give this Article a read too. This will boost you in your daily Work…

We talk about this later in this Issue again. You need to sell your Stuff. It doesn’t matter how good you are, if you can’t sell it.

PS One of my Readers was with me on this very Day. I waiting for a “Ping” from you my Friend. 🫵

# 2 - 🦺 Domi’s „Building in Public“: 🚀 How to build a Media Brand 👨‍💻

Welcome to my Public Building Section. This is where you can sit next to me in the first Coach of the Rollercoaster and learn with me together…

Currently I start to think about what is my overall Mission. That’s the Point everyone of us should think more deeply in the Beginning.

In Terms of the Strategy, you should ask some Questions upfront. Like the following One…

Why can a Media Brand be better than a Personal Brand?

I tell you:

  1. Your Brand can grow without you by using Employees.

  2. You can sell your Brand if you want.

  3. You still can push your Personal Brand through the Media Brand.

But therefore a Media Brand is maybe harder to start. So as you guess it, I did some research last Week for this Question.

Here’s the Stuff I was researching about:

1) Ben Levy & Shaan Puri - Building the Milk Road

They scaled a Web3-Newsletter in 1 ½ Years from 0 to Exit with 250k Readers. A great Blueprint to use.

2) Morgan DeBaun - The founding of Blavity

A great female Founder of a Media Brand. Here with VC Money but still an interesting Case. (12 Mins)

3) Alex Hormozi - How to grow your Audience

I use his Advice a lot lately, as you may recognised. Here are his tips for getting Followers. (7 Mins)

I think this is a valid Point. A Media Brand is maybe harder to create but you can also get Co-Founders for this and fill your Content Machine with Employees too.

This will definitely part of my Considerations in Terms of the new Strategy.

So stay tuned.

--

I hope you see how I work around the bigger Picture here. This is all adding to the Mission Statement you need to follow to give your strategic Thoughts direction.

#Twitter-Box: 📈 The World Order of Sales 💶

Today some quick & dirty Wisdom again.

There are two Things you need in the End to have a winning Startup, Business or Project.

  1. A great Product, Service or working Process.

  2. A great Way to sell it.

The Problem is mostly that Business People underestimate Point 1 and Tech People underestimate Point 2.

The Following is an interesting Conversation which also could happened anywhere in Europe at any given Time. This is timeless Wisdom you should be always aware of.

Enjoy the Thread…

Just to clarify the Idea of the Post here. A Product which is easy to sell is a Product which is easy to explain…

Means, in the best Case you have a straight forward Customer Value, User Interface, Business Model and Way to Implement it. So consider this in Terms of your Offering.

#Domi's favourite 5 - Random Workout Edition 🏋️‍♀️

Here are my coolest Reads of last Week:

Feedback please! Help me to improve for more fun Stuff.

Click on a link to vote:

Meme of the Week

Why I’m always feeling so relieved after this…🌤️ You too?

🤣😂 Thanks for reading the 37th Issue.

Please share with your Friends and have an epic Week.