👊 Domi's favourite Things - Issue #54

💫 The Cycle of Life 🐣

Read time: 5.50 Minutes

Servus Friends, 👊

last week we talked about how to hedging your Bets better, in the “De-RiskIssue. ✅

Today we talk about the Differences of Marketplaces and how you can understand them straight away.

In the Social Corner we have a look into the famous Benner-Cycle. A cool Chart for predicting the Future from the 1800’s. 🙃

So keep hedging my Friend…

The Things we are digging in Today:

  1. 💡 Understanding all Forms of Marketplaces forever 🏪

  2. 🦺 Domi’s „Building in Public“: 🚀 How to use a CMS to be lazy 👨‍💻

  3. #Twitter-Box: 🔎 The Benner Cycle for Investing 🔥

  4. #Domi's favourite 5 - Random Cycle Edition 🔂

# 1 - 💡 Understanding all Forms of Marketplaces forever 🏪

There are several Reasons why you should understand the Differences between Marketplaces and how they work.

Nearly all of us are using different Marketplaces every Day. In our private and professional Lifes.

Therefore you should know how they work:

  • How they make Money of you?

  • How they attract and retain you?

  • How they connect different Value Propositions together?

  • In Terms of Business, how your Work is depending on them?

Never forget. If you use a Marketplace or a Market-Platform as Distribution Channel you have a high Risk losing important Chunks of your Business.

So know what you get your self into. That’s why it is so crucial to know how to spot them, to understand them and to use them in your favour.

But where to start? There are so many different Marketplaces out there…

This Explanation from Dan Hockenmaier is a great beginning:

In addition, all of this is even more important, if you ever planning to found a Marketplaces yourself.

We talked about how to integrate Network Effects to grow Platforms before, but remember, this is a really hard Job.

And every Marketplace-Form is bringing their own Advantages but also Risks.

The Business Models and how you make Money differs broadly.

If you want to dive deeper, here is the full Article…

I love thinking about Marketplaces and Platform Business. I love that so much that I wrote my Thesis back in Uni. Maybe I’m a Nerd. 🤓

# 2 - 🦺 Domi’s „Building in Public“: 🚀 How to use a CMS to be lazy👨‍💻

Welcome to my Public Building Section. This is where you can sit next to me in the first Coach of the Rollercoaster and learn with me together…

Let’s get back on Track and continue the last Week’s Topic. How I run tweeting all Day long without being on the Phone?

The Answer not only for Twitter/X but also for nearly all other Social Media Channels is a CMS.

A Content Management System.

A well-known Tool at big Corporations and Agencies, all around the Globe.

Here are the two I use currently. With a Free-Plan. (you know me I am a “lean” Guy 🤨)

  1. Buffer

  1. Hypefury

And the Magic is gone…

I just use 1 Hour on Sunday evening and “stack” all Posts for the coming Week. It’s really so easy these Days.

If you run a Social Channel as well, I suggest you to try this out. Next Week I show you how I planned out my new Social-Strategy…

So stay tuned.

--

I know several Social Media Celebs which don’t use a CMS. Usually these are the Creators which telling me all the Time that they have a hard Job… 🫠 

#Twitter-Box: 🔎 The Benner Cycle for Investing 🔥

The following Thing is mind-blowing. Predicting the Future is always a hard Job. But this is really interesting.

One Disclaimer first. There are huge Debates about the Benner Cycle. Is it scientifically viable or is just Bull Shit? (here is an academic Paper of the Benner Cycle 🧑‍🎓)

To be honest. I don’t know. But I will follow the Accuracy of this Prediction in the Future anyway. It’s fun to see how Things will turn out…

But at least, I like both Sentences in the Middle and the Bottom, which translate to good general Wisdom.

I paraphrase them like this:

  1. In good Times and Years of high Prices, its about Time to sell Stocks and Values of all kinds.

  2. In Years of hard Times and low Prices of Stocks etc., its a good Time to buy and hold till good Times. Then unload.

Could be written by Warren Buffet, if he would teach Kids about Stocks Strategies.

Enjoy the Benner-Cycle-Thread…

Let’s see if the Years 25/26 will be good Times to sell your Stock. But I think an upwards Cycle could really coming in the next Years. (no financial Advise of course 🤑)

#Domi's favourite 5 - Random Cycle Edition 🔂

Here are my most interesting Reads of last Week:

Feedback please! Help me to improve for more fun Stuff.

Click on a link to vote:

Meme of the Week

Yes, this is a truly accurate Picture of the real World in Startups… 🚀

🤣😂 Thanks for reading the 54th Issue.

Please share with your Friends and have an epic Week.