👊 Domi's favourite Things - Issue #29

Land & Expand: An ongoing American History 🇺🇸

Read time: 6.30 Minutes

Servus Friends, 👊

last week we covered how to find the right Metric for your Business, in the growth Issue.

Today we turn to the wild West and ride deeper into the Topic of entering new Markets. With a little “Land & Expand” Special. 🇺🇸

A Strategy you can use to build an un-destroyable Moat against Competitors.

In Addition I have a short Update of my Way to 1000 Subs for you.

This is an exciting One for you again. I Promise. 

Keep riding my Friend… 🏇

The Things we are digging in Today:

  1. 🛬 How to “Land” & “Expand” into new Markets 🇺🇸

  2. 🦺 Domi’s „Building in Public“: 🚀 XX 👨‍💻

  3. #Twitter-Box: AWS shows us how L&E is done right 👾

  4. #Domi's favourite 5 - Land & Expand Sales Edition 🌄

# 1 - 🛬 Land & Expand: America’s History in two Words 🇺🇸

Let's talk about my personal favourite Thing. Let's talk Strategy....

When you starting out with a new Business or Project you always have to question yourself, what the Go-to-Move will be.

In other Words: The Go-to-Market-Strategy or in short the GTM.

And like with everything in life, you can approach the GTM in many complicated Ways…

Where do I start? Is this the right Idea for this Market? Is our Targeting right?

So many Things can be wrong. Therefore I want to introduce you into a straight but powerful Tactic today.

Land & Expand.

The Main Idea behind this Framework is, to find a good Entry Point for your Product or Service (Land) and then enlarge your Offering into adjacent Markets. (Expand)

Sounds hard, but done right a super effective Way in getting to sustainable Shares in any specific Area of Business.

Let‘s talk this through with a current Case…

Meet Toast. An american SaaS-Company in the Hospitality Sector.

Toast started out with helping Restaurants, Bars and Deli‘s to process Payments in a more convenient way at the Point of Sale. (Land)

But after „landing“ in this Niche, they started to listen to all the Problems their Customers are facing and started adding new Services. (Expand)

A great Way to build the next Unicorn. Here‘s an Overview of all their Offers…

Keep in Mind, that you need to show a great Level of Execution to gain Success with this Tactic.

So use the Stage of „Land“ wise here and build all the necessary Fundamentals before you hit the „Expand“-Button.

An additional Thought here…

I am convinced that you can use this Method in any Size of Business and at any Point.

Yet I believe that you can follow this with a Lean Mindset. But of course having Money in the Bank to invest, makes Things easier.

Here‘s a cool Read for a deeper dive into Land & Expand

You can also dominate a local Market and win big. Land & Expand is not only for VC backed Firms…

# 2 - 🦺 Domi’s „Building in Public“: 🚀 Automate your Success 👨‍💻

Welcome to my Public Building Section. This is where you can sit next to me in the first Coach of the Rollercoaster and learn with me together…

Hey nice that you back with me.

Let’s start where we finished last week… With getting Connections and new Followers.

After my first Tests done, it’s crucial to find a working System. Of course I have to test that System too. Don’t forget I do that as a Side Project, so no time to spare here.

Therefore I use a CMS, a Content Management System. If you Google around, you will find a lot of different One’s. I checked first which System is mostly used by already successful Creators.

So I tested Buffer, Typeshare and Hypefury. All in all, good alternatives. But I also want to proof you, that you can do this with no Money too.

Therefore I joined after testing all 3 to Buffer.

Buffer let’s you have 3 Channels and offers the best Functions for the Free-Plan. (The AI-Features are crazy too, you can rephrase all of your Texts with just one Click)

But now the important Part. Where do I get my Content from?

Ah, yeah. I got already 26 Issues in the Bank. So I split the old Content and write some new Content in advance.

Thanks to Buffer I can write 3 Weeks worth of Posts down in an hour.

But I also need a System which allows me to track the Success after.

So I came up with a System for Posting:

Let’s see what the Numbers will tell us next Weeks. We will do a Retro then and iterate into a better System after.

If you interested where I got my Process from, then read on this Blog Post of Justin Welsh

Next Time I will show you how I specifically set up a Post and what Tactics I follow to make it a good one.

I currently reading two Books on how to create the right Funnel for a Enduser. When I have distilled the Learnings, I will let you know.

So be excited…

--

Last Week a Friend hit 1 Million Subs at TikTok. I maybe ask him for a little Interview soon and bring this here too. To learn more about the Mechanics of Social Growth with you.

#Twitter-Box: AWS shows us how L&E is done right 👾

In Terms of Land & Expand

Here is a quick real Life Example from Amazon itself. The Bezos Company had not just an One Hit Wonder with this Tactic.

I even think the whole Master Strategy of Amazon relies on Land & Expand.

We all know their Prime-Programme. Every Time I open the App there is a new Killer-Feature in a new Industry you can use with your Membership.

So this is maybe the Text-Book Study for an aggressive Market Entry with L&E…

Land & Expand. This is a Killer Tactic for your personal Toolbox. And I think you should use this Approach in a lean way.

But Amazon proofs that a little bit of Money is helpful.

#Domi's favourite 5 - Land & Expand Sales Edition 🌄

Land & Expand can also be a straight forward Sales-Technique, so here some cool Links to read on:

Feedback please! Help me to improve for more fun Stuff.

Click on a link to vote:

Meme of the Week

After every “motivational” Speech by the CEO… 🧨

🤣😂 Thanks for reading the 29th Issue.

Please share with your Friends and have an epic Week. 👊