👊 Domi's favourite Things - Issue #27

👨‍🚀 The Unbundling of the Universe 🛰️

Read time: 6.20 Minutes

Servus Friends, 👊

In last Week’s Issue, we recalculated an Exit of a Startup and showed why this is not always as good as you may think. (a real insightful Story 🤔)

This Week we dive into the next Round of my Hunt for 1000 Subs again and talk about how Unbundling had and will change the World around us.

So keep curious my Friend…

The Things we are digging in Today:

  1. 💥 How to get your next Startup Idea by „unbundling“ Things 🪐

  2. 🦺 Domi’s „Building in Public“: 🚀 How to grow via LinkedIn 👨‍💻

  3. #Twitter-Box: 🐥 The One Tweet which catches them all ⚾️

  4. #Domi's favourite 5 - The Random Unbundling Edition 📱

# 1 - 💥 The Unbundling of the Universe 🪐

Let‘s talk a bit about the bigger Picture today. (or more precise the World around us 🫠)

I promise I get to the Point, where this helps all of us to get better Business Ideas in the Future…

However, Storytime first:

If we look back the last two Decades, we have to conclude that a lot have changed. Especially since Steve famously said „One more Thing“, we saw a lot of new Stuff and Ideas in our Lives.

Many of them we can remember, but I bet so many more happed without we even recognised them…

The following Story of Change will opening your Eyes and features a big AHA-Moment later on.

But what Major Shift was really so impactful, that this is influencing your Life ever since?

Let‘s talk about the great „Unbundling“.

With „Unbundling“ we mean, the Process of splitting the „bundled“ Value of a Major Product with many different Users into many Products with a more focused specific User.

Sounds a bit complicated first, but I explain with an easy Example…

We all know Craigslist from the US.

A Platform you can find everything like Jobs, Housing or other Offers… (I believe nearly every european Country has its own Version of this)

Now a Question…

When was the last Time you used Craigslist or the Alike?

I know. A very long time ago.

But why?

Because this happed to Craigslist…

This is the Power of Unbundling.

So if you brainstorming for new Ideas soon, maybe you should look at some old Major bundled Platforms first.

Then try to “unbundle” a Part of the Platform into a valuable Product for a more specific Customer.

Now it's easy to raise the (Value)-Bar in your more narrow Target Group and beat the old Platform.

A great Recipe to win.

Now let's use the Idea of Unbundling and think back, like in the initial Story…

Do you recognise other Major Shifts in the past Decades through unbundling? (psst, think of the Newspaper Industry 20 Years ago 🗞️)

Aha.

Are your Eyes wide open now?

If you still hungry for more, you can find more Examples and a deeper Explanation in the following Blog Post…

This Story is a great Reminder, why sometimes it‘s necessary to go back in Time. It‘s way easier to find helpful Models to encode the World around you.

And as a Bonus, a useful Method to get new Business Ideas today…

# 2 - 🦺 Domi’s „Building in Public“: 🚀 How to grow via LinkedIn 👨‍💻

Welcome to my Public Building Section. This is where you can sit next to me in the first Coach of the Rollercoaster and learn with me together…

Last Issue I ranked Ideas for Growth with No Money. A hard but solvable Problem.

The Outcome is to turn to LinkedIn as Growth Channel first.

Why?

Because I have the educated Guess that most of my Target Group can be found there.

A plus as well is, that LinkedIn still has a high visibility for Posts and high engagement Rate. So high Value for cheap Effort.

And my personal Thesis is, that there is a big Gap left for actionable and useful Business Content. A Thesis I of course have to proof…

Since last Week, I set up a new Profile. I will show you everything next week in detail. I promise.

But today we talk about how I want to find my new Subscribers. Therefore I turned to the best LinkedIn Marketer I know.

Justin Welsh. He’s an Expert in growing on this Platform and offers useful Advise in how you can build a working Content System.

Here is the Resource I got my advice from…

Thanks to 26 Issues of my Newsletter in the Box, I have enough resources to fill the Profile with Content for Months.

But now the interesting Question…

How do you start and gain the first Recognition?

Like for everyone else, this question is also frightening for me too. And the easiest Answer is just to start.

So here my early Growth Strategy for LinkedIn:

  1. Set up Profile

  2. Connect with my existing Network (from personal Account)

  3. Start with first Posts to gain first Engagement.

  4. Comment and Like other Posts for the Algo.

  5. Start to build a Subscriber Funnel

That's the plan. Let's see what will happen… I am excited.

Next week I will show you my first Posts, the Engagement and my Profile.

Until then Friends…

- - 

As you recognised, I don't know everything from the beginning as well. But that's not a Problem at all. I just turn to some Blueprints from People which already did it and use them in my own way.

After the first Weeks, I will use all the Learnings and adjust till I find the Market-Fit for this Channel. No Magic. No silver bullets.

#Twitter-Box: 🐥 The One Tweet which catches them all ⚾️

Now a quick & dirty Link…

Instead of a sole Tweet, you get a shit Ton of great Tweets today.

Give this Link a bookmark and read one Tweet a Day. That will sort you out till the End of this Summer.

But never forget. If you not implement them, you don‘t use these Tips in the right way.

You learn by „Doing“.

Enjoy all this Wisdom…

And by the Way, if you ever look out for a great Tool to manage your Twitter Output, Tweethunter is a great Point to start with. (no Advertising here, I just like the App)

#Domi's favourite 5 - The Random Unbundling Edition 📱

Here some cool Reads from last Week:

Feedback please! Help me to improve for more fun Stuff.

Click on a link to vote:

Meme of the Week

The Debate of the next Decade… Are you Team Office or Home Office? 😶

🤣😂 Thanks for reading the 27th Issue.

Please share with your Friends and have an epic Week. 👊