👊 Domi's favourite Things - Issue #20

🥖 Pay in Restaurants like the French 🇫🇷 (& Fermi again)

Read time: 4.20 Minutes

Servus Friends,

last week we talked about how to build a 100 Million Business in the German Edition Part 2 Issue. 🇩🇪

This Time I will talk about my surprising last Restaurant visit. Followed by a deeper dive into the Fermi Estimation again.

Keep learning...

The Things we are digging in Today:

  1. 💵 The best Payment Solution in Years… Made in France 🇫🇷

  2. 🙃 A second Look on Fermi again! (I beg you to read this) 🚀

  3. #Twitter-Box: ⚡️The Resourcefulness of Ben Tiggelaar 🤔 

  4. #Domi's favourite 5 - Random Baguette Edition 🥖

# 1 - 💵 In France the Sunday is the Funday… 🇫🇷

Three Weeks ago I sat with Friends in an outstanding fancy new Restaurant in Berlin Mitte. So far, so normal… (a bit expensive too, here’s the Link)

But suddenly I moved on the edge of my Seat. Then that Feeling. The Feeling you have when you use something for the first Time and instantly never want to go back anymore.

But what happened? What was so good that I couldn’t ignore it?

The Answer… The best Payment Process Experience in a Restaurant since Years. (Yes I can get excited about Stuff like this 😅)

Meet Sunday. A Service where Restaurant Customers can look up the Menu, can Order and can pay straight at the Table. All via QR-Code. No App needed.

I know that sounds not like the biggest Breakthroughs at all. But it felt like a Win-Win-Situation for everyone. The Waiter had more Time to take care of us. It was a busy Restaurant, but we still could order seamlessly all the time. And you can easily split the Bill in the End.

I love great Products like this…

Every Table get their own QR-Code so you can always see on your Phone how big the Bill is already. Innovation can be so easy sometimes.

And for the Restaurant Owners, it’s a win too. Faster turnovers. More Tips via App. Bigger Baskets. And most important, less wrong orders…

I also love the Founder Story of Sunday…

Two Restaurant Owners from Paris had trouble to find a good Payment Solution, which would help them to run effective Processes. After Years they were so desperate, that they decided “We can do better!”.

A great Example of the Rule for finding a good Problem to Solve for your Startup: “Have the Problem yourself.”

Here you can watch the full Story of Sunday with their American Co-CEO. Enjoy…

One of the Things I try to do more and more frequently for you is, to introduce you to cool Businesses founded in Europe. Why? Because Stuff like this proofs that we can build great Products here too. Sunday is already in the US-Market and still growing.

A real great Product and a real great Story from France. 🇫🇷

# 2 - 🙃 Fermi again! (Yes it’s that Important…) 🚀

I know you hate me now… I know I brought you that Method last Week. But using the Fermi Estimation right, is really that important.

Trust me… And not just me… Trust also Ash Maurya.

If you don’t know him, here some Context.

Ash is the famous Author of “Running Lean”. The Bible of Lean Startup Tactics. His Learnings have to be in your Toolbox. This is one of the best Frameworks out there. I use his knowledge every Day and so should you.

Ash is an innovative entrepreneurial Thinker on his own. And he also uses the Fermi Estimation to evaluate his Ideas in an early Stage. (I love if I find out that several high status People use the same Method)

I think his Blog Post here is explaining the Model even better than last Week. And a bit of Repetition is always good for Memorisation. (I like the Blog-Name too. “Practice trumps Theory”)

So back to Fermi now…

I’m working currently on a little Fermi-Estimation-Calculator for you. (a little Side-Project) Will of course post this here, when ready. Also give Ash a follow, his Content teaches you more than every Business School out there.

#Twitter-Box: ⚡️ The Resourcefulness of Ben Tiggelaar: Nothing Special, but Genius… 🤔

To be honest… At the Core there is only One simple Skill to be successful. You have to know how to solve Problems.

And most of the Time, we all thinking too complicated. Sometimes it takes a bit of Resourcefulness and your Problems are gone.

Ben is the best Example for this. The Following is nothing crazy complex. Only thinking straight forward.

You get what I mean after reading this Tweet…

It’s about Fundamentals. Not Theories which could be more complex than Albert Einsteins Relativity Papers…

#Domi's favourite 5 -  Random Baguette Edition 🥖

Here some cool Reads of last Week:

Feedback please! Help me to improve for more fun Stuff.

Click on a link to vote:

Meme of the Week

Brace for impact when Office Gossip is coming in…

🤣😂 Thanks for reading the 20th Issue.

Please share with your Friends and have an epic Week. 👊