👊 Domi's favourite Things - Issue #16

🪄 Productising Magic & Real cold Mailing 📨

Read time: 4.50 Minutes

Servus Friends,

last week we talked about the German Wunderkind Christian Reber & Growth Hacking in the german Issue. 🇩🇪

This Time I have a little Advise for Freelancers (and not just them) in how to make your life easier with a little Strategy.

Also an Accounting Story of my Dad's Mentor and a fun Cold Email from last week.

Enjoy and your welcome...

PS Next Week I will send out the Copywriting Special.

The Things we are digging in Today:

  1. 🤔 How to turn the coldest Email to a warm Answer 📨

  2. 🆓 Free Fallin': How you can scale as a Freelancer 🥸

  3. #Twitter-Box: 🧮 The only Math you need to be Successful 💵 

  4. #Domi's favourite 5 - Random Bacon Strips Edition 🥓

# 1 - 🤔 A real Life Example: How cold Emails can work for you… 📨

The best Stories are coming almost every time from real Life.

The following is a fun One of how you can step up your cold Email Game… And it happened last week.

Since around a year I regularly write “well-known” People cold emails. And I got really surprised how often they answer to me back.

With “well-known” I mean People in the Entrepreneurship Context which are known in their industry, because they great Founders, Authors, Bloggers or running even a big Youtube Channel. (+750k Subscribers and he wrote me back)

But how you can do this as well?

  1. Just start cold emailing People in the first place. Maybe start in a context you have nothing to lose. Like myself when I read a good Blog Post of a cool Author.

  2.  You need to add value for them. One of the biggest secrets in Cold Emailing is to not just write people something only you have an advantage of. Add Value for them first.

  3. Don’t write long Emails. Keep as short as possible to get your Idea into in their Heads.

  4. Write like you speak. Don’t write complicated Jargon just to sound smart. Write like you would actually talk to them.

So, here is my real Life Story of last week:

Like every Friday, I got the weekly Email from Neville Medhora. (I mentioned him several times before in my Newsletter)

In this Mail, Nev is talking about great Marketing from my favourite Brand “Guinness”… And I thought I can add value for him in this Topic. (being the Guinness Man I am 🍻)

So I wrote this cold Email to him:

For Context Reasons, this is the Chapter I meant in the PS-Link: (Issue #11)

This was his Answer:

🤣

I know this Example has no Deal in it or something. But If you use this approach for more “serious” topics, it will work too.

I just related to his work (he talked about the Guinness Marketing-History) and gave him some tips for more, which made him reading the Email. Then I just introduced something I want from him over the PS.

To give you an even better understanding of the Process, here is a Blog Post for Cold Emailing with Neville himself… (what a turnaround 🙃)

I tell you just do it. Writing cold emails randomly to people trains your ability to do this also in real business cases. This can get you a strong unfair advantage in your Career.

And it’s fun anyway.

# 2 - 🆓 Free Fallin' like Tom Petty, but making also a Shit Ton of Money 🥸

To all of you out there, which running a Freelancer Career... This is a Special for you!

I know it's great to be Free and having no Boss. But I also know it is not always sunny in Freelance City. Every time you have to hustle for new Customers. “Making holidays” are only other Words for "I am not making money right now".

But what if I can tell you, there might be a way in how to solve all of this Problems with one little Strategy? Of course you will listen to me...

This is Why you should give this Article a read. And you should also give it a read if you a Knowledge Worker.

The Solution is, instead of focusing your Time only on One Customer at a Time, you may can “productise”your Knowledge and give to many Customers at the same Time. (In my Opinion also a great way to innovate)

So give this a try and use it even for a better Work-Life-Balance as well...(Thank me later)

This Strategy is a great way to find new Business Ideas too. Just think of Topics which can be a consulting Business first. Then you try to productise your consulting Gig and run it as a Product.

Easy but Genius.

#Twitter-Box: 🧮 The only Math you need to be Successful 💵 

Don't be afraid of Numbers.

To have Success in Business Life you don't need that much Knowledge about Accounting & Controlling as you may think...

A little Story first:

Around 2 Years ago I had the chance to talk to my Fathers Mentor a bit and asking him some Questions. A great opportunity, because he is a renowned Tax Consultant from Frankfurt with 40+ Years of Experience. This Guy saw really a lot of Customers: Big Firms, SME's and given to Frankfurt also "interesting" Stuff like Table Dance Bars and the alike.

And I never met a guy which can press down your taxes to nearly Zero without breaking the Law, like him… 

So I walked into the Office, prepared to ask for the Secrets I have to know for paying less taxes and on how to build a great Accounting System in my own Endeavours.

With all my knowledge from different Finance Classes back in University, I was a bit surprised about his thinking in how to evaluate Businesses in the first place.

So, he showed me his Spreadsheet of formulas and surprisingly it wasn't a highly complex one with plenty different models. He just uses really simple Numbers to tell if a company is going well or to predict its future.

He told me:

"Just take the Numbers you need. The Rest is just Noice."

Simple but true...

As I found Brain Beers Tweet lately, I was immediately reminded to that story. And Brain is right too. You don't need that much math or complex financial models to know your shit...

Of course there is more work to do in terms of making your Taxes than just these 4 Numbers. But for you as an Owner, this is really enough.

I also use this method when I evaluate my next Stock Pick for investing at the Markets. On the long run this is just what really matters to gain better Stock Results. Even famous Warren Buffet is using a method like this for his Picks.

#Domi's favourite 5 -  Random Bacon Strips Edition 🥓

Here some cool Reads of last Week:

Feedback please! Help me to improve for more fun Stuff.

Click on a link to vote:

Meme of the Week

If your (Work)-Life is build like a House of Cards...🃏

🤣😂 Thanks for reading the 16th Issue.

Please share with your Friends and have an epic Week. 👊